top of page
Search

Ratatouille (2007) Review

mas·ter·piece /ˈmastərˌpēs/

noun

a work of outstanding artistry, skill, or workmanship.


I don't think there is another single word that can define Ratatouille. Completely enthralled in the themes of artistry Ratatouille presents something relatable to every human being to ever exist. Within each and every person there is an innate longing to create. Scale and number of things created varies from person to person. But writing something, cooking something, drawing, painting, building, sewing, knitting, singing, animating, filming, taking pictures, playing music, poetry, art, creativity flows through humanity. Ratatouille taps into something that I have yet to see matched by any film I've ever seen.


Remy the rat. Personally, the most I've ever related to a character. I've always considered myself a creative-minded person. But as I said everyone has the want to be. But the feeling of when creating feels like a necessity, something that you need to do, something that needs to happen. It's a feeling I relate to a lot and one that's showcased perfectly in Ratatouille. Passion drives art, and you can feel Remy's passion for cooking and it's just a joy to experience. And to go even deeper you can feel the passion in the filmmaking, the animation the writing. You can feel that everyone behind this movie felt it's passion. I'm repeating the word feel a lot. And that's because this movie makes you feel so much.


A love letter to Paris: There is a deeply rooted commitment to showcasing the beauty of Paris. Through music, animation, and the environment there is presented a beautiful Paris. It's such a comfortable feeling that probably couldn't even be matched by the real Paris. And when it comes down to the main location of the story, the restaurant. You can see everything that gives it a charm and a romantic feeling. Romantic in a sense of love with Paris. To sense this intimate feeling that a place can give. This may not be an accurate definition of romantic but I think it fits.


This is still some of Pixar's most beautiful animation in my opinion. It drives the sense of comfort that this movie gives to you. It also immerses you in the culinary side of life. To see these dishes, ingredients, and food allow you to taste everything in the way it's presented. I've always loved food. And it's really something that this movie gives you a sense of taste in the food.



This will always be one of my favorite films of all time. It is one of the most comfortable, inspiring, and passion-filled movies that has been released under the Disney name. I'm gonna return to this film over and over again. To anyone who wishes to explore the animation medium and wants a pretty mainstream place to start this is one of the best places I think you can start. Ratatouille is a love letter to art.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page